Weait - Emily's Bees and Bells for voice and orchestra (8'31)

SKU: [1704A]

Emily’s Bees and Bells is a song cycle for voice and orchestra. It consists of eight brief poems by the celebrated American poet Emily Dickinson (1830 – 1886) that mention bees or bells. The music supports Dickinson’s precise writing with bee-like buzzings, chimes and melodies reminiscent of her time. The moods are varied. One poem has two different settings and another, the final one, incorporates two versions by the poet. The poetry is used with the permission of Harvard University Press. Recordings and broadcasts are not permitted without permission from the composer

The movements are:
1. The Bee is Not Afraid of Me (0.54)
2. Fame is a Bee (1’00)
3. When Bells Stop Ringing (1’10)
4. Bee! I’m Expecting You! (1’07)
5. Fame is a Bee (Reprise) (0’34)
6. The Clock Strikes One (1’18)
7. To Make a Prairie (1’18)
8. The Pedigree of Honey (1’10)

Total music time 8’31

The orchestra for Emily’s Bees and Bells consists of strings and light percussion: 3 Chimes D, B-flat and A, Glockenspiel, Small Ratchet and 2 Temple Blocks. The full orchestral score is available for $30.00.
A version for voice and piano is available at [1704B].